Hotel historyThe building of the hotel was erected in 1890 and renovated in 2006 in an art deco style. The hotel is characterized by decorativeness and the use of expensive materials and various elements of modern art. This can be seen both in the interior and in the furnishing and decoration of the rooms.
The SAVOY BOUTIQUE HOTEL building is among the oldest in Tallinn. The building at Suur-Karja tn 17/19 was built in 1890. The first enterprise that moved into this building was the atelier M.Kippar in the 1907. Shopping windows were filled with elegant designs.
During the period between 1920-1940 the building belonged to the Estonian National Bank or as it is known “Eesti Rahvapank”. During 1925 the Estonian National Bank was the central bank of joint venture loans institutions.
The Second World War II massively damaged Europe, and Tallinn was no exception. The majority of buildings lay in ruins.
Since late 1950s until the beginning of the 1970s the ground floor was again a place devoted to elegance and design-the Mood atelier.
In the mid 1970s the building started to host the Ararat bar and later there was even a spirits shop.
Since then, the building has continued to be associated with the HoReCa industry.
VesiVeski coffee shop took over the ground floor of the building during the mid 90s.
In 2006, the building was renovated again and since then it has been housing the SAVOY BOUTIQUE HOTEL. We are striving to make the hotel one of the most unique places to stay in the heart of Tallinn, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Since then, the hotel has been renovated several times and acquired its unique atmosphere and style, for which it is now famous. Many of the decorative elements originate from local workshops and carry a historical and cultural heritage.